Picture of Scarlett O'Connor
Idiots guide to travelling/completing course in 4 months... Help!
by Scarlett O'Connor - Wednesday, 20 April 2011, 01:01 PM

Hey everyone.

I'm new to the forum :)

have just started my online TEFL & have decided to go to Thailand but have given myself a date of September.

This includes completing the course but also to sort flights, visa, vaccanations etc.

Would you say that's realistic?

Was hoping to book my flight next month so that's the motivation for me to complete by August to enable my certificate to arrive in time.

So a few questions really, is completing the 50 hour as well as the 30 grammar course within 4 months doable?

Also how soon do I need to start looking at visas etc?

I'm new to all of this so any advice will greatly be appreciated

Thanks

Scarlett

Picture of Robert Huthwaite
Re: Idiots guide to travelling/completing course in 4 months... Help!
by Robert Huthwaite - Wednesday, 20 April 2011, 03:45 PM

I am just waiting for my final assignment mark on the 50 hr course and i have completed the grammar in 6 weeks. so yes it is do able
by Scarlett O'Connor - Wednesday, 20 April 2011, 06:08 PM

Hey

Thanks for your reply... How much dedication did that involve?

I currently work full time so only managing a few hours an evening.

Just to clarify, you completed both the grammar & 50 hours online in 6 weeks?

Pretty impressive... One less stress!
by Robert Huthwaite - Friday, 22 April 2011, 07:42 AM

Hi
Yes it took me 6 weeks to complete the 50hr Tefl and grammar awareness. I did it everyday for a couple of hours. I was also doing the grammar when I was waiting for my assignments to be marked.
I had a lot of motivation as I want to get out of my current job so I know that once I have done this course I won't be there forever.
I did it everyday to keep the motivation going and keep what I had learnt fresh so I would not forget.

Rob
by Scarlett O'Connor - Sunday, 24 April 2011, 02:01 PM

Thanks Rob